My Live! 360 sessions

This morning I arrived back home from my trip to Orlando, FL together with Marcel. It was a fun trip, where I got the opportunity to do two things: completing my final “exam” for becoming an official Xamarin University Partner Trainer and delivering my sessions at AppDev Trends, part of the Live! 360 2017 conference. It was weird to hear “I’m Dreaming of a White Christmas” and other assorted X-mas songs all day while the sun was shining through the palm trees in the tropical Florida scenery.

On Tuesday, I spent an intense but fun day with Rob Gibbens from Xamarin, going through the Xamarin University curriculum, presenting the material to him and exchanging tips. This was the final part of becoming a certified XamU trainer. My colleague Geert and I are currently the only official Xamarin University Partner Trainers outside the US. We can deliver 3 to 5 day on-site trainings that count towards the official Certified Xamarin Developer exam. Ping me for more info, or check out our website.

img_2796

The rest of the week I got to spend time at the Live! 360 conference at the Royal Pacific Resort in Orlando, FL. Live! 360 is a yearly conference that is a combination of several smaller conferences such as Visual Studio LIVE!, SQL Server LIVE!, TechMentor and AppDev Trends. I was invited to deliver two sessions in the AppDev Trends track, and the fun part is that attendees can pick and choose between the different tracks. My talks were centered around cross platform mobile development.

Here are the slide decks for my sessions:

Mobile DevOps Demystified with Xamarin, VSTS and HockeyApp

In this talk I introduced the concept of DevOps and the unique challenges that come with mobile. This talk was pretty demo-heavy, in which I showed how to set up a continuous delivery pipeline in VSTS Build & Release, in conjunction with Xamarin Test Cloud and HockeyApp. I also briefly introduced the brand new Visual Studio Mobile Center, which was announced last month at Microsoft Connect();

Overcoming the Challenges of Mobile Development in the Enterprise

Big enterprises can be a challenging environment for doing mobile development. There’s tension between existing architectures and processes and the innovation and speed that mobile requires. In this session I shared my experiences in mobile projects in bigger enterprise environments.

You can check out Marcel’s sessions on his blog.

Thanks to the AppDev Trends organisation and the speakers and staff of Live360 for another fun conference. And if you thought you could get away without another food post, think again… 🙂 We closed off in style with a great dinner at Emiril’s Tchoup Chop, where I enjoyed this mind blowing cocktail:

fullsizerender-6
Holiday Cocktail: home infused bourbon with apple, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and other spices, mixed with home made raspberry syrup and topped off with rosemary
Leave a Reply

